In practice, Iceland and Norway, non-EU countries, participate in Schengen-related work through joint committees, which meet in parallel with the WORKING groups of the Council of the EU. Representatives of EU member states, the Commission and third country governments attend their meetings. Iceland and Norway are therefore participating in the discussions on the development of the Schengen acquis, but not in the votes in this context. For more information on how to obtain a Schengen visa, click on the name of the country you want to visit first or where you will spend most of your trip: the French overseas departments are part of the European Union, but none of these departments is part of the Schengen area. These divisions are as follows: In addition, according to the policy underwritten, AXA insurance covers non-Schengen countries of the European Union, such as Ireland, Romania or Bulgaria. In short, they are too different, although many countries are included in both. The EU is a political and economic union, while the Schengen area allows the free movement of people between the participating countries. In another case, the visa application resulting from the Schengen agreements corresponds to any visa procedure. You apply, send your passport and then receive a stamp if you are approved. However, they must meet certain criteria and requirements in order to qualify for a visa under the Schengen Agreement.

One of the most remarkable requirements is Schengen visa insurance. Schengen states that share a common land border with a third state are allowed, in accordance with the European Union Regulation 1931/2006, to conclude or maintain bilateral agreements with neighbouring third countries for the purpose of implementing a border area system. [273] Such agreements define a border area of up to 50 km on both sides of the border and provide for the granting of permits for small border traffic for the inhabitants of the border area. Authorizations can be used to cross the EU`s external border within the border area, are not stamped when crossing the border and must include the name and photo of the holder, as well as a statement indicating that the holder is not allowed to travel outside the border area and that any abuse is punishable. The Danish territories are not part of the European Union or the Schengen area, and visas for Denmark are not automatically valid in these regions. However, in both areas, there is no border control for arrivals from the Schengen area and air or sea carriers are responsible for carrying out pre-board document checks, as is the case for travel within the Schengen area. Citizens of EFTA countries can travel to faeces and Greenland with a passport or ID card, while citizens of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden can use any acceptable identification (for example. B driver`s licenses or bank cards that are not recommended, as planes could be diverted to Scotland in case of fog). [97] [98] On 30 May 2018, while border controls of the migration crisis were still active in some countries, the European Parliament decided to condemn the extension of border controls between the Schengen Member States. [155] But it was only a statement, since Parliament does not decide.

From 2015[update], Andorra, Monaco and San Marino negotiated an association agreement with the EU. Andorra`s ambassador to Spain, Jaume Gaytén, said he hoped the agreement would include provisions that would make states associated with the Schengen agreement. [114] The Schengen Agreement includes two separate agreements that were ratified in 1985 and 1990 respectively. Between them, they abolished border controls and greatly facilitated transit through Europe. The two individual agreements stipulate that Schengen visa insurance is of course only part of the qualification process, but that if you plan to travel to Europe, it is worth sucking in the last few years.